Museum Leadership

museum leadership

National Children’s Museum’s Board of Trustees is comprised of industry leaders who share a deep commitment to education and the Washington, DC, region.

board of trustees

Headshot of Agatha Aubach

agatha w. aurbach
civic leader

elizabeth snowdon bonner headshot

liz snowdon bonner, vice chair
president of the board, hill-snowdon foundation

Crystal headshot

crystal bowyer
president + ceo, national children’s museum

Sy Damle Headshot

sy damle
partner, copyright practice of the litigation + trial department, latham & watkins

mike friedberg
partner, holland & knight

Headshot of Ross Hechinger

ross hechinger
civic leader

juan hinojosa
managing director, government affairs, american airlines

Headshot of Greg Hutchings

greg hutchings, jr.
founder + ceo, revolutionary ed; former superintendent of schools, acps

jasper jung
executive director, global strategic initiatives for global public policy, general motors

Michelle Kang headshot

michelle kang
ceo, national association for the education of young children

stephanie beyer kirby
immediate past chair of of the board at the alexandria chamber of commerce

robb micek
evp + cfo, american beverage association

Paul R. Monsees

paul r. monsees
partner, foley + lardner llp

Nelson Peña

nelson peña, secretary
president global brands, nestlé usa

Beth headshot

beth newburger schwartz
president + ceo, epoch communications

scott stewart, treasurer
founder + managing partner,
capitol seniors housing

Tereasa Surratt headshot

tereasa surratt
founder + owner,
camp wandawega

Headshot of Rob Volmer

rob m. volmer, chair
founder, fundrayse

Headshot of Joseph Wright

joseph l. wright
svp + chief medical officer, university of maryland capital region health

ginger zee
chief meteorologist + climate unit managing editor, abc news

Headshot of Heather Zimmerman

heather zimmerman
board member, zims foundation

To inform exhibit, space, and program design and strategy at critical points of museum development, National Children’s Museum assembled four advisory councils comprised of subject matter experts and community leaders.

opening advisory council

neil albert, former city administrator, washington, dc

vinoda basnayake, chair, dc commission on nightlife + culture

elliot ferguson, president and ceo, destination dc

ilyse lerner, community leader

tom manatos, head of federal affairs, block

laura huerta migus, deputy director of the office of museum services, institute of museum and library services

monte monash, president, monash advisory group

the honorable jim moran, former congressman for the virginia 8th

kurt newman, president and chief executive officer, children’s national

bob peck, government and defense leader, gensler

emery simon, vice president of global government relations, spotify

nicholas stone, founder and ceo, bluestone lane

david wilmot, community leader and activist

inclusion, diversity, equity + access council

tiffany bryant, assistant manager of audience enrichment, digital learning, the john f. kennedy center for the performing arts

karen cole, deputy chief, academic + creative empowerment, dcps

abbie diaz, education director, wisconsin maritime museum

jamila larson, executive director and co-founder, homeless children’s playtime project

britlan malek, physician, children’s national medical center

myrna peralta, president and ceo, centronía

griffin pinkow, ceo, forseeable futures foundation

elise roy, inclusive designer and advocate

korrin saunders, chief of wellbeing, monument academy

education advisory council

alison bryant, senior vice president, aarp research

tiffany bryant, assistant manager of audience enrichment, digital learning, the kennedy center

maya martin cadogan, executive director, parents amplifying voices in education (pave)

julie camerata, executive director, dc special education cooperative

kim cherry, former deputy chief, stem, dcps

patti curtis, robert noyce/ellen lettvin stem education fellow, office of planning, evaluation and policy development, us department of education

katherine custer, former director of education programs & assessment, dc arts and humanities education collaborative

kara defrias, senior manager of bizops, intuit

michelle edwards, executive director, live it learn it

jenna gabriel, education consultant + former manager of special education, the kennedy center

natalie evans harris, senior advisor for delivery (tech and data), secretary of commerce

irene holtzman, executive director, friends of choice in urban schools (focus)

dr. greg c. hutchings, jr., superintendent of schools, alexandria city public schools

kristin jarrett, equity & impact strategy and outreach lead, spotify

monica kang, founder and ceo, innovatorsbox

lotte lent, acting director of museum education program, the george washington university

laura dallas mcsorley, senior advisor, administration for children and families

donna tuggle, acting assistant director of education, outreach & visitor experience, national museum of natural history

mila yochum, former executive director, office of out of school time grants and youth outcomes, office of the deputy mayor for education

exhibits advisory council + advisors

steven amato, chief executive officer and founder, contend marketing

bill botten, us access board

brent bushnell, chief executive officer and founder, two bit circus

laura dines, deputy director, ted courses

lissa frenkel, president and ceo, the charleston gaillard center

emily hestness, education specialist of urban agriculture, u.s. botanic garden

anne mullen, former evp, preschool brand creative + marketing; global experience design, nickelodeon

lauren neal, vice president, booz allen hamilton

eric newburger, chief data scientist, subject matter

robert pasin, chief wagon officer, radio flyer

natsu onoda power, artistic director, davis performing arts center

duane rollins, vice president of impact + research, seed spot

dj saul, former ceo, isl

tereasa surratt, vice president of global group creative director, ogilvy

alex todaro, co-founder, median, llc

alexander toft, former global director – head of international expansion, lego group

chanda garfield, former commissioner, dc anc-3/4

don undeen, founding manager, georgetown university maker hub

joseph l. wright, chief medical officer, university of maryland health

national oceanic and atmospheric administration